Denis Omedi’s steady rise continues day by day with his name among a provisional squad of 36 players who have been summoned by Uganda  Cranes interim head coach Morley Byekwaso Ochama ahead of the October International break.

The Kitara football club striker has been in excellent form for his club in the Uganda premier league thus far scoring one goal in three games.

He scored in the 2-1 victory over the Jogos in Wankulukuku last month to officially open his goal account with the Royals.

He was also involved in the build up to our equalizing goal versus Gaddafi football club last Friday which his teammate Kabon Living scored and eventually won 1-2.

This display saw him nominated for the Forte Bet  Real Stars awards for the month of September.

His call up to the Cranes is the forth; having previously featured and scored in the Uganda Cranes Na Mutima regional tours (Eastern & Buganda) in Buyende and Luweero respectively.

Omedi was also recently named in the provisional squad  for the 2024 AFCON qualifier against Niger but didn’t not make final squad.

However, here’s another opportunity to put his name on the international level.

Four Uganda premier league forwards have been  named in the squad with whom Omedi will be competing. BUL’ s Lawrence Tezikya, Milton Karisa of Vipers and Maroon’s Fred Amaku are the players the Royals’ striker will challenge for a spot on the final squad that will play two international friendly games against Mali on 13th October in Bamako and against Zambia in Dubai, United Arab Emirates.

Uganda Cranes  will enter residential camp on Friday morning at Cranes Paradise Hotel in Kisasi.

Provisional Squad:


Nafian Alionzi Legason (Ethiopia Defence Forces FC, Ethiopia), Charles Lukwago (Hawassa City FC, Ethiopia), Joel Mutakubwa (BUL FC, Uganda), Isima Bin Rashid Watenga (Golden Arrows FC, South Africa), Jack Komakech (Vipers SC, Uganda), Derrick Ochan (KCCA FC, Uganda)

Kenneth Semakula (SC Villa, Uganda), Gavin Kizito Mugweri (SC Villa, Uganda), Elvis Bwomono Okello (IBV Vestamanyaer, Iceland), Abdu Aziizi Kayondo (Hapoel Tel Aviv FC, Israel), Ibrahim Juma (CD Leganes, Spain), Halidi Lwaliwa (FK Bregalnica, North Macedonia), Livingstone Mulondo (Vipers SC, Uganda), Enock Walusimbi (URA FC, Uganda), Najib Fesali (URA FC, Uganda), Hudu Mulikyi (URA FC, Uganda)

Elvis Ngonde (SC Villa, Uganda), Ivan Irinimbabazi (Soltilo Bright Stars FC, Uganda), Bobosi Byaruhanga (Austin FC, USA), Fiat Cleophus (Soltilo Bright Stars FC, Uganda), Khalid Aucho (Yanga FC, Tanzania), Saidi Mayanja (KCCA FC, Uganda), Isma Mugulusi (Fereinse FC, Portugal), Arafat Usama Kizza (KCCA FC, Uganda), Ibrahim Kasule (New York Red Bull II, USA), Laban Tibiita (URA FC, Uganda), Bright Anukani (Vipers SC, Uganda), Rogers Mugisha (Gor Mahia FC, Kenya)

Denis Omedi (Kitara FC, Uganda), Fred Amaku (Maroons FC, Uganda), Lawrence Tezikya (BUL FC, Uganda), Richard Basangwa (Wadi Degla SC, Egypt), Frank Ssebufu (New York Red Bull II, USA), Milton Karisa (Vipers SC, Uganda), Rogers Kassim Mato(Sanliurfaspor FC, Turkey), Simon Peter Oketch (Commercial Bank of Ethiopia, Ethiopia)

October 5, 2023