Stanbic Uganda Cup Final
25 -May- 2024
NEC FC v Kitara FC

The grandeur and the spectacle of a final is something truly unique. And on May 25 2024, a new Stanbic Uganda Cup champion will be crowned as NEC FC and Kitara FC face off in the 50th edition of this competition.

Kitara’s accendance under the tutelage of Brian Ssenyondo this season has earned them the special opportunity to play in the finals at Muteesa II stadium, something that they won’t take for granted since it’s the only pathway for them to debut at continental level should they win.

The boys have certainly enjoyed a memorable path to the final. At the round of 64, the Royals were drawn against West Nile regional league side Nebbi Central whom they defeated 1-2 thanks to George Senkaaba’s brace.

An all Uganda Premier league affair followed as Ssenyondo’s side pushed past Gaddafi FC and later SC Villa in an identical 2-0 victory in the 32nd and 16th round respectively.

Having gone past the last 16, a stage at which they were eliminated in 2023 by Calvary FC, Kitara’s form continued as they knocked out holders Vipers SC in a 5-4 penalty shoot out at the Masindi stadium to make it to storm to the semis.

Pajule Lions were sent packing in the semi finals on a 4-1 aggregate. Kitara won at home 3-1 before registering a 0-1 victory away in Pader district.

A stern test awaits the Hoima based club who will need to defeat Hussein Mbalangu’s NEC to cap their already good campaign.

This is the third meeting this season between both sides; each side has won their respective home fixture 1-0.

Jude Ssemugabi scored Kitara’s only goal as they beat NEC in the StarTimes Uganda premier league at the Masindi stadium last November while Cromwell Rwothomio netted for the Diehards last month in Lugogo.

Whoever wins on Saturday afternoon will represent Uganda in the 2024/25 CAF Confederations Cup.

Team news:

While our opponents with have to make do without the competition’s top scorer Joseph Dhata and forward Brian Kayanja, Brian Ssenyondo has a healthy bill to select from except long term absentee Ibrahim Magandaazi.

George Senkaaba and Chris Kusiima have all returned to the squad and are available for duty.

May 24, 2024